Marcus High School's Online Newspaper

The Marquee

Marcus High School's Online Newspaper

The Marquee

Marcus High School's Online Newspaper

The Marquee

About us

The Marquee newsmagazine is the nationally and state recognized student-generated publication of Marcus High School in Flower Mound, TX. It is produced, edited and maintained through the efforts of the school’s advanced journalism class. The print edition is published monthly and our web edition is updated daily. The Marquee is designed to serve the school and community as a forum for open discussion and student expression.

The Marquee has a long history of receiving local, state and national awards. In 2007 and 2010, it won the Lonestar Award for sustained excellence from UIL and has received ILPC Stars for the last ten years running, including five Gold Stars. In 2009, the publication was ranked the 7th Best Newsmagazine in the nation at the JEA/NSPC convention in Washington D.C. In October 2010, The Marquee was named the second best newspaper in Texas at the TAJE convention in San Antonio.

The Marquee won a CSPA Silver Crown at the 2011 Columbia Press Association Convention in New York City.

It placed fifth place in Best of Show at the JEA/NSPA national convention in 2012. That same year, they also earned a Gold Star through ILPC and also received numerous individual awards.

In 2013, The Marquee earned an ILPC Gold Star, the highest state high school newspaper ranking, as well as staffers winning 21 individual awards including top sports feature in Texas. For CSPA, they won in 11 categories including design, photography and writing. They also won first place nationally in sports feature and third place in overall design.

The Marquee won 10 awards in 2013 at the Dallas Morning News High School Day. They swept the design category and won first in long feature and sports feature.

In 2014, it was one of only 11 schools awarded a Gold Crown by Columbia Scholastic Press Association. Then in 2015 and 2016 it was awarded a Silver Crown by CSPA, a Bronze Star and Silver Star from ILPC along with three Tops in Texas winners.

The Marquee won an ILPC Silver Star in 2017. It was also nominated for seven Tops in Texas awards and won Tops in Texas for Feature and Sports Feature. The publication was awarded second Best Newspaper at that year’s TAJE convention in San Antonio. 

In 2018, The Marquee was awarded a Silver Crown by CSPA, a prestigious national award only given to 50 other schools. It also won an ILPC Gold Star, which is a top state award, and a Tops in Texas award for Personal Column. 

In 2019, The Marquee has won a Bronze Star from ILPC and was an Honorable Mention for large newspapers at TAJE. While in Washington DC for the National High School Journalism Convention, the publication’s website got tenth place in Best of Show. They also won Superior in newswriting and Honorable Mention in feature writing. The Marquee was announced as a 2020 CSPA Crown Finalist for News.

In 2020, The Marquee has received a Silver Crown from CSPA, which is only awarded to 50 other schools across the nation, and won fourth place Best in Show for newspaper/newsmagazine over 17 pages at NSPA’s Spring National High School Journalism Convention. The publication also won a Silver Star from ILPC, as well as two Tops in Texas awards and many individual placements in both online and print. The staff won a total of 19 individual awards for the TAJE Best in Texas contest, nine of which were Superior, and a total of 16 individual awards for the Press Women of Texas high school contest, six of which were first place. The Marquee was named as a finalist for news reporting and a finalist for best website for the Dallas Morning News high school journalism contest. The Dallas Morning News also awarded The Marquee with first place for best series or project. The publication’s website was named as a SNO distinguished site for the 2019-2020 school year and has had 39 stories published on Best of SNO. In the fall, 3 staffers were announced as part of the 2020-2021 All State Journalism Staff. The Marquee was named a NSPA Pacemakers newspaper/newsmagazine finalist. 2020-2021 editor-in-chief Madi Olivier won NSPA Writer of the Year and Managing Editor Tara Connick won 4th place for Best Cover. The Marquee also won 3 individual awards in the CSPA Gold Circle contest.

In 2021, The Marquee has won 39 individual awards in the TAJE Best of Texas contest. The publication also received a Silver Star from ILPC and 4 Tops in Texas awards, along with 35 individual awards. The staff won 12 individual awards at both the Dallas Morning News high school journalism contest and Press Women of Texas contest, five of which were first place. In addition, The Marquee won 4 CSPA Gold Circle Awards. 3 stories were finalists for the 2021 NSPA Individual Awards in feature and sports, with one story winning first place and three winning fourth place, fifth place and honorable mention. At the TAJE Fall Fiesta convention, The Marquee won first place for large print newspapers and the overall first place sweepstakes. In addition, the publication was announced as finalist for a CSPA Gold Crown Award for print news.

So far in 2022, The Marquee was awarded the CSPA Silver Crown for print news.

The Marquee encourages letters to the editor as a part of its mission to educate, inform and provide an open forum for debate. All submissions must be signed. The staff reserves all right to edit all material.

If you would like to exchange papers with us, send us your publication at

5707 Morris Road Flower Mound, TX 75028.